User tools SmallNormal Text SizeLargePrintBookmark the SiteEmail this Page


Posted on: Thu 05 May 2011

MK Dons' annual Player of the Year Awards saw the honours shared across the board at stadiummk.

As confirmed at the final home game of the regular League 1 season, Luke Chadwick picked up the biggest prize of the night by claiming the MK Dons Player of the Year.

It is the second successive season Luke has picked up the award, as voted by those whose opinion counts the most - the MK Dons supporters.


Mathias Kouo-Doumbe was voted by his peers as their outstanding performer for the 2010/11 season as he was named the Players' Player of the Year. The defender has been in superb form for the Dons, proving to be a rock in Karl Robinson's backline and providing outstanding cover at right-back when called upon.

Peter Leven was the man to please the harshest critics of all - as he claimed the Football Writers' Player of the Year for 2010/11. The MK Dons press pack have travelled home and away with Robinson's men this campaign and chose Peter's displays as a midfield maestro worthy of the gong.

Daniel Powell was named the first MK Dons Young Player of the Year following his superb performances for the first team. After returning from his loan spell with Darlington earlier in the season, Daniel has gone on to become a regular in the starting eleven and has nine Dons goals to his name.

The Goal of the Season was picked from a shortlist of three by guests on the night. Supporters narrowed an original shortlist of six to three - with Sam Baldock's first goal against Colchester and Stephen Gleeson's stunning strikes against Leyton Orient and Rochdale making the top three.

And it was Gleeson's strike at Orient, his first Dons goal, which won the tag for the best goal of the season. The Republic of Ireland international picked up two awards on the night with the MK Dons Supporters Association voting him the MKDSA Player of the Year.

Second-year apprentice George Baldock was named the MK Dons Under-18s Player of the Year after another impressive season for Mike Dove's side. George has also been called upon by Robinson this campaign, coming off the bench for their victory over Tranmere Rovers.

Other winners include Young Ladies Player of the Year Emma Budd, Ladies Player of the Year Hannah Barrett and Sam Baldock being confirmed as the top goal scorer.

Doubletree by Hilton took the opportunity to name Jack Day as the Fan of the Year.

Full list of winners:

MK Dons Sport & Education Trust Community Coach of the year 
Karl White

MK Dons Sport & Education Trust Community Player of the Year
Dean Lewington

Football Writers' Player of the Year
Peter Leven

Fan of the Year
Jack Day

Top Goal Scorer
Sam Baldock

MK Dons Academy U18 Player of the Year
George Baldock

MK Dons Young Player of the Year
Dan Powell

MKDSA Disability Player of the Year
Ben Smeaton

MKDSA Player of the Year
Stephen Gleeson

Goal of the Season
Stephen Gleeson - Orient away

MK Dons Young Ladies Player of the Year
Emma Budd

MK Dons Ladies Player of the Year
Hannah Barrett

Players' Player of the Year
Mathias Kouo-Doumbe

Player of the Year
Luke Chadwick

 News Archive
Display Stories From Week

All rights reserved save as per website Terms of Use. Cookies & Privacy. Subscription terms and conditions.


For all advertising and sponsorship enquiries, please click here